Don't Know Dickens

Charles Dickens, that is.

A Tale of Two Cities Quickfire

I’m a sucker for a romance–especially when it involves obstacles. When I pick up a novel, I always hope that a great romance is about to unfold. The romance in A Tale of Two Cities, though, is not the one I expected.

After developing this perfect creature (Lucie) and the mysterious man (Darnay), I expected the works: courtship, marriage, etc. While this happens, it is hardly the focus of the novel. What surprised me, I guess, was the romance of war, justice, and morality. Dickens goes into such detail about the priviledged lives of the aristocrats and the difficult lives of the impoverished–and what a contrast that is. From drinking wine on the ground to terrible acts of violence, the poor of France grab the heart of the story.

Lucie and Darnay? I know they will be more of a focus in the “Book the Third” with Darnay determined to return to France, but will it shift the romance aspect back to them? I’m not sure I care. There are people fighting for liberty and right and wrong, and that seems so much more important than Lucie Darnay. I’m hooked to the romance of revolution.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “A Tale of Two Cities Quickfire

  1. I’d never thought about it this way before you said it–it’s the biggest “romance” ever on the largest scale imaginable… it’s epic romance. Or romance on an epic scale. Love it.

Leave a Reply

